FSP_ZX2
FSP_ZX2 Dork
6/20/18 9:07 a.m.

In 2011 I left the mortgage banking industry after sitting at ground-zero for the whole meltdown debacle.  Prior to banking I worked in sales at a Ford dealership for 12 years.  I loved the job, hated the hours.  Which is why I went into banking.

I did not want to go back into the car business.  That I knew.  I was referred by a friend to look into Harley-Davidson sales (I live in Milwaukee--so H-D is kind of a big thing), and I did.  I interviewed at the dealership that had sold me my Buell M2 and got the job on the spot.

The bike parked right next to my desk on day one was a 2011 XR1200X in White Hot Denim.  I had sold the Buell a year before as I was going through a divorce--coupled with the loan officer situation at the time. Needless to say I was in lust.

I was in no financial position to buy a new bike--really any bike--at the time.  I switched dealers in 2012 and in the showroom on day one was a 2011 XR1200 with full Ohlins and V&H Widowmaker.  I rode it to a "bike night" at the H-D museum, and my lust was now love.  The way it rode...the sound...the "feel".  It is an intangible about this bike--it's not *that* fast, but it's fast enough.  It's not *that* anything--at least what you can put your finger on.  But is certainly *something*.

It was still too much for me to afford--but there was a Buell XB12STT that fit my needs so I got that.  Fast forward to 2014 and I sold the Buell and again was bikeless.  In late 2016 I picked up a used 2013 Honda CB500X--just to have a bike again.  And it was good for that. Nice machine.