secretariata
secretariata SuperDork
10/16/18 1:01 a.m.

Ok, so let me 'splain...

I ain't getting any younger and middle age is creeping up. I started riding later in life and have been riding for 15 years or so.  This has all been on Japanese bikes that would be classified as either Standards, Sport Touring, or Crotch Rockets.  Always considered Harley's as Barcoloungers due to the feet forward seating position and couldn't really grasp the concept of controlling a bike from that position.  Lately, my riding has been somewhat limited and mostly highway and/or primary routes rather than backroads so I'm considering a switch up.  My job has changed so I am willing to commute year round on a bike (I'm one of those All The Gear All The Time peeps so (I won't fit in with the cool kids) summer sucks if you work in an office and have to dress nice, but I work with contractors now...).  So, considering the possibility of a later model Harley to see if that would increase my mileage and riding frequency.  No hardcore, chopper, lack of suspension, ape hanger, front end in the next zip code, looks cool machines needed.

So, what do I need to know? Fall/Winter is rapidly approaching so now's the time to start shopping. I don't know or understand the Harley FX????XL Wide Glide Slide Upside Downside terminology so Harley for Dummies is appreciated. Interested in bikes with FI not carbs so what years should I be considering?  Looking to stay reasonably priced (under $10k and closer to $5k preferred), no passenger seating requirements (SWMBO has her own cycle), low seat height (whopping 29" inseam here), hard bags would be nice (trunk not necessary but not strongly opposed), removable windshield would also be nice.  Drive belt is fine and probably lower maintenance than a chain.  Less weight than a Goldwing so I can walk it around and out of my parking spot at work and back it into my garage (provided I can find space) at home.