FireballYoyo
FireballYoyo New Reader
8/9/17 1:59 a.m.

I'd don't want to relive my stupidity too much but I will take opinions.

A while ago while building my motor, my air nozzle dropped and nicked my block. I had to get it together for a trackday and it's been running strong for ~2,000 miles, but I wonder if this is an issue. Mainly that I could blow a headgasket in the future.

This is a turbo SR20 engine, and I'm mainly concerned with the nick on the chamfer of the cylinder. The other one is larger but I think pressure is the greatest at edge. It's hard to describe the depth, I could just barely feel it with a fingernail. My fear is that deterioration creeps through that outlet and leads to a failure.

Alas, my failure:

Thanks all, all input welcome.

tuna55
tuna55 MegaDork
8/9/17 8:25 a.m.

I am not an expert by any means, but that looks tiny.

APEowner
APEowner HalfDork
8/9/17 8:52 a.m.

That should be fine on anything other than a steel shim type head gasket and even then it's probably OK.

oldeskewltoy
oldeskewltoy UltraDork
8/9/17 8:55 a.m.

you should be fine

bentwrench
bentwrench Dork
8/9/17 10:03 a.m.

I know you have assembled the motor already, but for future reference...

Lay a gasket on the deck and see if the nick falls in an area that is critical.

Most gaskets dont seal that close to the edge of the cylinder. Even a metal shim.

pinchvalve
pinchvalve MegaDork
8/9/17 10:30 a.m.
bentwrench wrote: I know you have assembled the motor already, but for future reference... Lay a gasket on the deck and see if the nick falls in an area that is critical. Most gaskets dont seal that close to the edge of the cylinder. Even a metal shim.

WAIT, YOU NEED A GASKET ON A HEAD?!?!?!?

HonestSpeedShop
HonestSpeedShop New Reader
8/9/17 11:09 a.m.

I have had much worse and never had a failure.

BrokenYugo
BrokenYugo MegaDork
8/9/17 11:49 a.m.