Ken Miles, John Cooper, Sir Jackie Stewart and more inducted into British Sports Car Hall of Fame

Photograph Courtesy Ford

What do Ken Miles, John Cooper and Sir Jackie Stewart all have in common? Besides being some of the world’s best race car drivers, the trio are part of the 2021 inductees into the British Sports Car Hall of Fame.

Established in 2016 and located Moss Motors in Petersburg, Virginia, the British Sports Car Hall of Fame exists to “preserve and perpetuate the legacy and impact of these legendary vehicles and to honor the men and women responsible for their success.”

Here is the full list of the 2021 inductees:

  • J.S. Inskip – Once an American body supplier to Rolls Royce, Aston Martin Packard, his company became one of the premiere purveyors of British Sports Cars in North America
  • Ken Miles – An Englishmen by birth, Miles not only became an American champion racer and engineer in Porsches and MGs, but became a key member of Carrol Shelby’s Ford Cobra development team and a crucial contributor to the development of Le Mans winner Ford GT effort
  • John Cooper – Co-founder, with his father Charles Cooper, of the Cooper Car Company. He became an auto racing legend with his mid-engine chassis design that would eventually change the face of the motorsport at its highest levels, from Formula One to the Indianapolis 500 to racing Sports Cars. He also designed and built the quintessential British Sport Sedan, the Mini-Cooper and Mini-Cooper S
  • Joseph Lucas – In 1860 he established a business selling bucketsshovels and other miscellaneous domestic materials.  In 1872 his son, Harry came into the business and within three years they opened the Lucas Lamp Works in Birmingham, England, the future home of the British automobile industry. The business became the foundation of Lucas Industries, which went on to supply virtually the entire British Motor industry with electric system components
  • Peter Morgan – In 1904 His Father founded a motor sales and servicing garage in Malvern Link, England, producing their first car in 1909.  Famous for their Three-wheelers, Morgan's first four-wheeler came in 1935. Peter Morgan, ran the company upon the founder’s death, expanding the sales of Morgan while maintaining the traditions of his family’s company. He was Director of Morgan until his death in 2003
  • Malcolm Sayer – Visionary Jaguar Cars designer who through a mathematical calculation technique learned while working as a wartime aircraft engineer, laid down the basis for the Jaguar C-Type, the D-Type, the stillborn XJ13, the E-Type and the Jaguar XJS. Protesting that he was a designer, not a stylist, he claimed to have never owned a French Curve
  • John Haynes – Created the Haynes Manuals brand by publishing the first manual actually entitled "Haynes Owners Workshop Manual", for the Austin-Healey Sprite in 1965. His manuals would become a ubiquitous fixture in all Do-It-Yourself mechanics libraries. His manuals now cover over 300 cars and 130 motorcycles and such diverse other topics such as the Star Trek Enterprise and Thomas the Tank Engine
  • Sir Jackie Stewart – “The Flying Scot”. He competed in Formula One from 1965 to 1973 driving for such British Marques as BRM, Tyrrell and Lola in Indy cars, winning the World Drivers Championship three times. He also competed in a “Lightweight” Jaguar E-Type, the North American-based Can-Am series in the American Chaparral 2J and the unique Lola T-260. He appeared at Le Mans in the breakthrough BRM-Rover powered Turbine car. Is considered a founder of the safety movement in Motorsports
  • Jim Clark – A two-time winner of the coveted World Drivers Championship. A versatile driver who competed in Sports Cars, Sedan Racing, and captured a breakthrough win at the 1965 Indianapolis 500, signaling the end of the “Roadster Era” at that race. While primarily associated with the Lotus Marque, Clark raced Sunbeam-Talbots, DKWs, Jaguars (D-Type), Lister Jaguars, Aston-Martin DBR-1 and even a NASCAR Ford at Rockingham, NC
  • Graham Hill – A two-time World Driving Champion, winning in 1962 and 1968 and runner up on three occasions (1963, 1964 and 1965). Despite not passing his driving test until 1953 at the age of 24 he entered motorsports a year later, Hill would go on to become one of the greatest “all-around” drivers of his generation. Hill is most celebrated for being the only driver ever to win the Triple Crown of Motorsport, an achievement which is defined as winning the Indianapolis 500 (Lola), the 24 Hours of Le Mans (Matra) and the Formula One World Drivers' Championship (BRM and Lotus)

The official induction ceremony will be “announced shortly,” but you can learn more about the inductees and the hall of fame at

Join Free Join our community to easily find more British Sports Car Hall of Fame news.
View comments on the CMS forums
Our Preferred Partners