Cool_Hand_Luke
Cool_Hand_Luke Reader
12/9/14 6:48 p.m.

Now that I've lured you in with my title.....

It's not a full on dragster....

Not even close really.

I'm in my high school's Technology Student's Association and we have a competition to design and build a miniature CO2 powered dragster.

It'll look something like this:

The Rules are rather extensive so it is essentially a formula spec race.

In essence, the cars will run down a guideline (fishing line) on 4 wheels and the whole dragster is made out of wood.

I've been messing around with Solidworks 2010 a bit and I would like to give a shot at 3D modeling one of these and simulating air flow as well as possibly getting it CNC cut (we have a number of large engineering companies in my town so I think I might be able to ask).

The body length is only 200-305mm so that gives you an idea of its size.

I am very new to working with Solidworks and have little CAD design experience so it will be a learning process. I need to figure out how to make smooth curves. I wonder if there is a trick for sketching a drawing on paper and then scanning the general shape into a 2D drawing on a CAD design.

Any feedback would be awesome. I'm probably going to be using this video series to start as a base for designing. Any tips on specific elements I should incorporate to ensure the fastest car would help tons.

I'm thinking about trying to make it as light as possible, drilling cavities into it, and then filling them as needed with lead solder until I'm right at the minimum weight req.

CNC experts: What wood material would be best for this application? It cannot be laminated in any way.

lnlogauge
lnlogauge Reader
12/9/14 8:34 p.m.

I'll have to post my CO2 powered school bus I built 10 years ago.