Tony Sestito
Tony Sestito UltimaDork
3/11/24 1:00 p.m.

I'm 3.5 years into my 2020 Kia Forte GT ownership adventure, and I'm suspecting that one of my stereo speakers is blown. The driver's side front door speaker has been getting wonky lately, and now I have to basically cut all the bass otherwise it sounds like the cone is going to leave the speaker enclosure. I am not quite sure that it's blown, and it very well could be a door panel rattle, but I started shopping around to see if there are any upgrades I can do. 

The car has the optional Harman/Kardon stereo, and from what I understand, that means 2-ohm speakers. I am almost certain these are set up like component speakers, with a midrange woofer and a separate tweeter. I'm a car audio veteran from way back, and I remember that with other systems, you basically had three options when coming across 2-ohm stuff:

-Replace with stock parts
-Gut the whole car, rewire everything, and get a new head unit
-Get a flaky step-down adapter and but 4-ohm stuff

I had to do Option 2 once with an old Nissan Maxima equipped with the Bose stereo, but with today's modern OEM head units, this is not an option anymore. 

I was hoping that someone made a drop-in replacement 2-ohm 6.5" speaker so I could upgrade, rather than kick the can down the road and deal with the same thing inevitably again with a factory replacement, but I'm not finding much out there. Any ideas? 

Again, I could be barking up the wrong tree, but I'm looking for some options. 

bmw88rider
bmw88rider UberDork
3/11/24 1:05 p.m.

Infinity Kappa 62IX series are 2.7 Ohm. That would be a good choice for you in the 6.5" size.

JBL GTO 629 are 3 Ohm and the stadium 620 version are 2.5 Ohm.

There is a really good conversation on 2 ohm speakers here for something to think about. 

https://www.diymobileaudio.com/threads/2-ohm-6-5-speakers.76878/

thewheelman
thewheelman Reader
3/11/24 1:13 p.m.