panjandrum
panjandrum New Reader
5/2/23 12:47 p.m.

I have many years experience in Autocross and Ice-X, and have already had experience Autocrossing the exact model of Clubman I have just purchased (except mine is a stick, because, it has to be, or course!). I normally Autocross vintage rear-engined Porsches and VWs, but the combined age of my vintage cars is now 101 years, and the reality is that there are times neither of them will be available for an autocross. I have also retired the Porsche from winter driving, so it will be unavailable. I'm happy with the clubman's handling overall, but as with all modern cars there are some things I just want to disable completely, or at least get under my control more if possible.

A handful of hopefully very quick questions for anyone familiar with the breed:

1) Can I permanently disable the Stability control? I never want it on and I don't want to have to turn it off every time I start the car. I never want it. Not in autocross, not in ice-x, and not in daily driving.

2) Same question but for traction control. Anyway to turn it *completely* off? Any way to make that change permanent?

3) Any way to default to Sport mode every time I start the car? (TBH I have not investigate this myself and maybe it's there and I've just missed it.)

4) Any way to take control of the AWD system to force a steady-state such as 20f/80r?

In my testing the Clubman did an admirable job of remaining extremely neutral with the automated AWD variable torque adjustment thing it does, but I know myself and my driving extremely well. Anytime a modern car tries to *fight* what I am doing it screws me up. (In my autocross testing of the Clubman to date both myself and my daughter were *seconds* per lap faster with Stability Control off, for example. For me it was costing me 3 or 4 seconds a lap, and for my daughter, who has less autocross experience, it was still costing her 1 or 2 seconds.)

ojannen
ojannen HalfDork
5/2/23 1:44 p.m.