1 2 3
914Driver
914Driver MegaDork
12/28/15 3:34 p.m.

I've been building a Speedster in the back of my head for about 20 years. It's not a 356 but a Model T with added lightness.

I have a line on a 1924 Paige 6 cylinder engine, tranny, driveshaft and both axles with good wood spoke wheels. (brakes on the rear axle only) $800.

I was thinking going to the airport a few miles away. Sunday breakfast; that kind of stuff. Like a motorcycle but bigger.

The engine below is what I'm looking at, 249c.i.

I'm not dialed into the vintage stuff, so what says the hive? Can I do better?

Dan

NickD
NickD Reader
12/28/15 3:37 p.m.

Engine-wise, I would stick with a Ford flathead V8 (They are one of the best-sounding engines ever) or Model A/B/C 4-cylinder, simply because they are a bit more of a known entity and there are tons of cool old speed parts for them Chevy Stovebolt 6 is another good option.

Honestly, I've never even heard of a Paige, so I imagine that getting maintenance parts would be a chore. If you really wanted to be daring, hunt down a Ford/Lincoln flathead V12. They are a total freak engine and most people don't want them and will practically give them away, yet they still share a number of parts with the flathead V8

914Driver
914Driver MegaDork
12/28/15 3:42 p.m.

These are Speedsters:

Kenny_McCormic
Kenny_McCormic UltimaDork
12/28/15 4:49 p.m.

I would also stick with Ford or post ww2 power (Chrysler flathead 6?) to prevent headaches from that department, ditto on the axles/brakes.

gearheadE30
gearheadE30 Reader
12/28/15 4:56 p.m.

Something is very tempting about using an engine I've never heard of and know absolutely nothing about.

mad_machine
mad_machine MegaDork
12/28/15 5:10 p.m.
914Driver wrote: These are Speedsters:

There is something so right about this one

Fueled by Caffeine
Fueled by Caffeine MegaDork
12/28/15 5:37 p.m.

https://www.youtube.com/embed/odrIit-Gy2w

I'm going to leave that right there.

Fueled by Caffeine