1 2 3
scrowner
scrowner None
11/15/08 8:37 p.m.

I was encouraged by November GRM where they purchased a vehicle for around $5K and got it racing. So, I want to do the same. That is, buy a vehicle to take out track racing and if available do a bit of autocross. But there are so many choices on autotrader! I have little experience turning a vehicle into something track ready but I am keen to do so. I am thinking to stay between $5K and $10K.

What ride should I focus on? Should I be interested in rides with racing mods already done?

Thanks for the ideas.

littleturquoiseb
littleturquoiseb Reader
11/15/08 9:14 p.m.

e-30? any honda?

Apexcarver
Apexcarver SuperDork
11/15/08 9:16 p.m.

a BIG yes on something with the mods already done. modifications rarely increase the resale value of a car, so you save alot of money vs buying a car AND buying the parts AND installing the parts..

do you like FWD or RWD (or AWD, but this tends to get expensive.)

RWD considerations- E30 BMW, Miata, RX7(go early), MR2, Fiat X-19.. (list can go on)

BoneYard_Racing
BoneYard_Racing New Reader
11/15/08 9:37 p.m.

A good 1gn neon(95-99) gets my vote. Cheap, easy to fix, easy to find, and the whole world has been there before.

M427
M427 New Reader
11/15/08 10:55 p.m.

Go to your local track and talk to people. Sit in cars, watch them on the track, and decide if you want to race or do TT events. Then buy something from some on at the track and you will save $$.. Used race cars are used race cars and in this economy 10K will get you a lot of used race car.

P71
P71 HalfDork
11/16/08 12:31 a.m.

C4 Corvette.

/thread

m4ff3w
m4ff3w Dork
11/16/08 12:40 a.m.

Fiat X1/9

wherethefmi2000
wherethefmi2000 New Reader
11/16/08 12:42 a.m.
m4ff3w wrote: Fiat X1/9

I knew you'd say that lol.

scrowner
scrowner New Reader
11/16/08 9:28 a.m.

Thanks for the tips:

recommended

1 Honda (looking at Integra, many, low $4k)

2 Fiat X1/9 (none found )

1 C4 Corvette (84-96, many, low $7K)