1 2
unevolved
unevolved SuperDork
5/14/15 9:54 p.m.

I had this 1991 318i a few years ago when I graduated college. The future Mrs. Unevolved bought it for me as a graduation present. A little over a year later after we got married, we decided to sell it and get an E46 to have something better cross-country since all we had at the time was an E30, an old Accord, and a single-cab pickup. Fast-forward to three years later, the E46 is now the oldest, crappiest car we have.

I miss that little thing. I never should have sold it. I'm not an E46 kinda guy, I want that rough-around-the-edges, underpowered, kinda ugly E30 back. I always feel like I look like I'm trying to convey a "successful" image in the E46, and it's never felt "right." You know? I've always prided myself on being more of a "blue-collar engineer" than the "I'm gonna drive a brand new BMW one day" kinda guy. I don't want a "nice" car. I work around Vipers and Corvettes and 911s and E36 M3 all day every day, and it doesn't appeal to me. They don't have the same kind of character as a little old german economy car.

I sold it to a guy up in Michigan. He flew down from Michigan with his brother, and they drove it all the way from Texas back up there. I have no doubt the little thing made it there without a complaint. Worst part is, though, the guy won't even answer my emails asking how it's doing. Not a peep.

Man, I tell you what, I'd trade my E46 for a running, driving 1991 318i with a 5-speed in a heart beat. Although unfortunately that's not such an advantageous trade these days, so it may not ever happen.

If I sell the E46, will I regret it like I do selling the E30? I doubt it. I'm not in love with that car like I was with the E30. It costs SO much more to keep on the road than it should, where the E30 cost me next to nothing the whole time I owned it.

Maybe it's just the whiskey, but I've made myself sad looking at pictures of that old thing. I figured you guys would understand.

Hungary Bill