Treb
Treb New Reader
2/27/09 11:57 a.m.

A friend of my wife has a 6th-gen (?) civc -- late 90s, anyway.

The clutch is bad, and she wants to offload the car.

I've never been within 50 feet of the car, and I haven't even talked to her, so I don't know what the problem is -- I assume it's a burned-up clutch disc, but that's just a guess.

I'm the "car guy" here, so it's my job to figure out the best way to get this car fixed and/or sold. I'm not trying to scam my way to a free civic, just trying to help somebody out who could use a hand.

So, people who know civics: --is there a simple problem that it might be (broken/misadjusted/etc clutch cable? Just for example)

--is a clutch job on one of these simple? Need special tools? I'm a decent mechanic (rebuilt my MG's transmission myself, 100K miles ago) but have never wrenched on a honda.

Any other thoughts/suggestions appreciated. Thanks, Matt

BanzaiBeast
BanzaiBeast None
2/27/09 12:20 p.m.

Hey Matt, I just sold my '97 Integra after having replaced the clutch. This procedure is nothing that should frighten you unless you have an aversion to Metric. Once you get the axle nuts off, you are done with special (sized) tools.
Some notes: Axles, Exhaust, Air Tube, Gear oil are all removed. To get the gearbox out will require removal of the transmission mounts while supporting the engine. The engine/trans has to be tipped down to clear the frame rail to separate them. With reassembly, the axles must be seated all the way in or the car will act like it is in neutral. The Haynes manual will give all the details, but you will probably have it apart in the time it would take to read through it all. Good luck and be careful!

xci_ed6
xci_ed6 New Reader
2/27/09 12:21 p.m.