EchoTreeSix
EchoTreeSix New Reader
9/10/24 12:04 p.m.

Had my first oh E36 M3 moment in the e36 and feel the need to share. For background, it is my first project and first rear wheel drive car since I started driving 15 years ago.  It has been a few days since this happened and I have been reflecting back on everything I did wrong (read: everything!) and it has prompted me to look into car control clinics and autocross. I will be looking into fixing the ABS as well. 

So what went wrong? I took a turn fast and decided to kick out the rear for fun. I'd kicked the rear out before from a stop and it's been easy to control. This time? Not so much. 

The blessing is that it was early on a weekend and there was a ton of space. The road is 6 lanes total, north and south. Where I was, two extra lanes on both sides for turning exist, so technically 5 across, north-south road.

I remember making the green and hitting the gas mid-corner to kick out the rear. What I did not expect was to catch as much angle as I did, ending up pointing towards the curbing at oncoming traffic. Panicking, I over corrected, ended up in the opposite West turning lane while holding the brakes, no clutch in - full on panic ,and over correcting again when THAT curb was coming up fast. I'm not sure how, but I ended up back in the opposite turn lane (East, nearest oncoming traffic) pointed West. No idea how I didn't catch the curb on this side. 

Luckily I'm ok, the car is ok, but certainly not the ride I expected. The drive home was a slow, shameful one and I am not going to try something like that again on a public road. Feeling dumb but am glad I didn't hurt anyone or anything. I understand it could have been much worse. 

TL;Dr: Lost control in my first RWD car and thought I was cooked. Looking to participate in next month's autocross for some semblance of car control. 

Colin Wood
Colin Wood Associate Editor
9/10/24 12:47 p.m.
EchoTreeSix said: