jrw1621
jrw1621 Reader
12/2/08 10:35 a.m.

I figured I would call on the collective wisdom of the board.

I found this classified listing today. Of course, it is the right car at the wrong time of year. I bought a one year old '83 Rabbit when I graduated High School and always wanted a GTI. I will be going to see this one soon. What should I be looking for?

VW Rabbit GTI 130,000 miles runs perfect, new tires $950 Hey guys, i'm selling my go to work commuter because I don't need it anymore. Car has brand new tires, and only around 15k miles on new timing belt, water pump, and brakes. Car also has a newer radiator, short shift kit, 2" cat back exhaust. Engine runs perfect, starts instantly every time, doesn't use a drop of oil or coolant, clutch is still super strong. Drivers fender is dented in and turn signal is damaged, but all lights still work. I also have a new grill and turn signals that go with the car. I'm just trying to get out of the car what I paid for it. Thanks for looking. Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
Paul_VR6
Paul_VR6 New Reader
12/2/08 10:43 a.m.

Rust. Check the floors VERY well as well as the rear arch inners and where the rear apron meets the side panels. Everything else is relatively easy to fix.

RussellH
RussellH New Reader
12/2/08 10:46 a.m.

Love those cars, so simple and easy to work on.

Speaking of Rabbits, is "angusfum" (Jim) around? His site used to be carhole.com

jrw1621
jrw1621 Reader
12/2/08 11:00 a.m.

What is the right place on the internet for an A1 GTI?

Is it www.thesamba.com or vwvortex.com or something else?

RussellH
RussellH New Reader
12/2/08 11:03 a.m.

vwvortex - that where I hung out when I had the A2 Jetta.

16vCorey
16vCorey SuperDork
12/2/08 11:04 a.m.
Paul_VR6 wrote: Rust. Check the floors VERY well as well as the rear arch inners and where the rear apron meets the side panels. Everything else is relatively easy to fix.

Also check the frame rails where the rear axle beam bolts up for rust.