1 2 3
Tony Sestito
Tony Sestito UltimaDork
11/1/23 5:36 p.m.

I recently found out that my day job is sending us back to work in the office a mandatory 4 days a week. I love the job, but the commute is not going to be fun. 

I live roughly 50 miles outside of the city, so that's 100 miles a day I'll be putting on the car. Current daily driver is a 2020 Kia Forte GT with the 6-speed manual, which I bought in the middle of the pandemic. It's been a decent car, and has about 39k on it now. But is it a great commuter car for my type of commute? Half the commute is highway, while the other half is sitting in soul-destroying bumper-to-bumper Boston traffic getting into the city. Clutch in, clutch out, brake, rinse and repeat for 8-10 hours a week is not good for me or the poor car. Another result of this commute is a nose dive in efficiency; I was averaging 29MPG before the commute, and now I'm averaging just 22-23. On top of that, it feels like a car that's built for JD Power Initial Quality award chasing, with long-term reliability a complete crapshoot. I've already noticed trim and seat wear that are typical of a 200k+ mile car at my current mileage, and that won't get better, I'm afraid. 

Before someone says "just take the train", I used to take public transportation before the pandemic, but I HATED it. Unreliable trains, worrying about if my car will get broken into all day, a 20+ minute walk to the office in mostly bad weather, and having to deal with the "human element" of other angry commuters and people who literally passed out on me on the train so much that one of the conductors nicknamed me "pillow"... yeah, no thanks, not doing that again.

So, I've been considering maybe trading the Forte GT in for something slightly more sensible. Requirements are as follows:

-Comfortable place to sit for hours on end, so creature comforts are a must
-Good stereo with Android Auto/Car Play
-Somewhat engaging to drive when I am not sitting in traffic