1 2
jrw1621
jrw1621 SuperDork
7/5/11 1:10 p.m.

I will be adding electric dog fence to my new house. My plan is to do the instal myself on my .6 acre property.
Does anyone here have tips, tricks, or testamony to share?

I am thinking about this system:
http://www.innotek.net/Products/In-Ground-Fences/Rechargeable-in-ground-pet-fencing.aspx

bravenrace
bravenrace SuperDork
7/5/11 1:18 p.m.

From personal experience and the experience of friends, I came to the conclusion that the DYI fences generally don't work. I bought an Invisible Fence system. It has worked for 3 different dogs. I have no experience with the one you link to, just stating the experience I do have.
One thing I can say with a lot of confidence is that with at least some dogs, training is everything. You have to take the time to train them to know the boundries. If not, they just blast through. I know at least a dozen people who have tried the DYI fences and then bought the Invisible Fence. I'm currently trying to talk my neighbor into it, because his boxer keeps getting out of his electric fence and coming over to our house.
I don't even put the collar on my dog anymore. He's 2-1/2 years old, very engergetic. He'll be chasing a rabbitt at full bore and will slam on the brakes just before the fence. He never even thinks about trying to get out.

foxtrapper
foxtrapper SuperDork
7/5/11 1:19 p.m.

As a livestock owner, I hate the blasted things. Dogs running after my livestock frequently have gotten out through those electric dog fences. Useless things.

ultraclyde
ultraclyde Reader
7/5/11 1:43 p.m.