RevRico
RevRico UltimaDork
10/1/22 3:51 p.m.

I feel like it's time for me to give sausage making a go. I have a 10lb pork butt and am going shopping this week. 

So what's your favorite recipe mix or blend? Sweet, hot, savory, I'm open to all suggestions. 

Because it's my first time, I'm not going to do links, if that makes a difference in your suggestions.

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
10/1/22 4:06 p.m.

Do ya have a good grinder? 

Datsun310Guy
Datsun310Guy MegaDork
10/1/22 4:34 p.m.

My Italian grandmother's recipe rewritten by my dad.  Both made it on the machine as shown.  I go to the local Italian deli.  

RevRico
RevRico UltimaDork
10/1/22 5:21 p.m.
John Welsh said:

Do ya have a good grinder? 

All metal kitchenaid grinder. 

Toyman!
Toyman! MegaDork
10/1/22 7:45 p.m.

I make a 100+ pounds of sausage and liver pudding every year for the family. I usually use AC Legg sausage seasoning mixes and seaon to taste. 

Buy an assortment, set up the grinder and a frying pan and try a few of them. I usually use the hot pork seasonings in everything. 

Another good place to get seasonings is your local butcher. He will have a mix that he uses. 

Edit to add: I run mine through a Weston #12 commercial machine with the large plate and grind it twice. Once before seasoning and once after. 

Get the meat as close to frozen as you can. It will grind easier and keep the grinder cool. 

Teh E36 M3
Teh E36 M3 UltraDork
10/1/22 9:04 p.m.

Boerwors is the best sausage I've ever had. The wife is South African, and it's a staple in the homeland. It may have played a factor in my 23 year marriage. Literally translated it is "Farmer sausage". Pork speck, beef, and lamb (if you're nasty). Toasted coriander, salt, pepper, and some other stuff. It's delicious. Don't grind fine - do 3/8" or greater for best texture. And do one continuous coil with a whole casing. 

Serve with Mrs Balls chutney and a cold beer and you will experience nirvana.