914Driver
914Driver Dork
5/29/09 6:03 a.m.

From the new issue of Readers' Digest....

Readers' Digest said: A British television show host thinks all the angst about cyberthieves is just rumormongering. To prove it, Jeremy Clarkson posted his bank account details in a newspaper. After learning that cyberthieves had gone through his bank account, Clarkson admitted he had been misinformed.
maroon92
maroon92 SuperDork
5/29/09 7:12 a.m.

that happened about January-ish...I think they found the guys and got the money back though....

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH SuperDork
5/29/09 9:18 a.m.

He's funny and witty but not exceptionally intelligent...

neon4891
neon4891 SuperDork
5/29/09 12:16 p.m.

I thought that he was acctually quite brilliant, he just plays the fool. After this one...

EricM
EricM HalfDork
5/29/09 2:41 p.m.

lol

Do NOT post your banking information publicly!!!

Odly, it is those that you wouldn't expect to fall victim of scams that do.

I am a data security analyst for the University of Illininois. and though I can not say exactly who, a senior tenuriourd faculty member lost all of his savings and Most of his 401K (403(b)) to a nigerian scam about transfering money out of the country. When we interviewed him he was still delussinal about being the only person who could help these people......

Osterkraut
Osterkraut Dork
5/29/09 8:23 p.m.

Reader's Digest put a nice spin on the sort too, I see...

The "cyber thieves" (I suspect Hammond) took $500 out of his account and donated it to some charity Clarkson loathed.

Carson
Carson HalfDork
5/29/09 9:45 p.m.

Did you ever see those ads on tv about the $1 Million guarantee for identity theft insurance? The guy says, "I'm so confident I put my actual Social Security number on the side of this bus." About a month later, someone ripped off his identity and stole a bunch of his money. Go figure.

Tom_Spangler
Tom_Spangler New Reader
5/29/09 10:14 p.m.