1 2 3
1SlowVW
1SlowVW Reader
3/17/20 6:11 p.m.

About a decade ago when I was heavily into the vw world a I saw a classified ad posted with no pictures for a pair of vw rabbits. So instead of being a good student I called a friend and we hopped in my big turbo 1.9td powered mk2 and off we went.

Upon our arrival we put a jack under the first of the two cars expecting to find no floors. Instead I saw the best mk1 floor pans I had seen. The car was from Labrador where it's too cold for road salt. Every panel on the car was dinged or dented but not rusty. So I made a deal and bought the car. First I installed a g60, and before I was done wiring someone offered me big money for the motor. Then I built a 16v and installed it, even bought a turbo kit and an SDS stand-alone. Then I got married, sold my mk1 caddy to pay for the wedding and moth balled the mk1 and my Jetta as she finished her masters and we moved around trying to figure life out. 
3 years ago I pulled my mk2 out of storage and put an aba-t in it. Then this past Christmas a local kid wanted to buy that motor set up. I put the mk2 away and saw the mk1. 

So here we go, a decade in. Round 3. Cars loaded up and will be brought down in a few weeks. The body is a little worse for wear but I'm older now. I can handle a little panel beating. 

1SlowVW
1SlowVW Reader
3/17/20 6:13 p.m.

This is the backup motor. If the 16v in the car is seized from sitting than I'll use this aba-16v combo. 

1SlowVW
1SlowVW Reader
3/17/20 6:33 p.m.

The plan if the current motor 9a 2.0l isn't seized is to use Microsquirt with an externally mounted ford 36-1 reluctor wheel and vr sensor and some spare ls coils. 
The turbo is a gm3 off of a 6.5 diesel and the manifold is home brew. I also have a short runner intake stashed away somewhere.

84FSP
84FSP SuperDork
3/17/20 7:46 p.m.

Ooh do I spy a ported manifold?

1SlowVW
1SlowVW Reader
3/17/20 7:47 p.m.

In reply to 84FSP :