1 2
AustenNut
AustenNut
6/21/11 9:09 p.m.

I'm a newbie to the field, and am interested in getting a "classic" to use as a daily driver. I live in the southeastern U.S., so there's humidity, but no snow/salt. I live in a city where I have off-street parking, but no garage. My daily commute is about 17 miles, round trip. As far as budget goes, it's $15k, but to keep a good repair allowance, maybe keep it closer to $10k.

I put "classic" in quotation marks because I'm willing to consider something as modern as the 90s, but I don't want a vehicle that could be totalled if something electronic/computerized went wrong (which I think starts happening a lot in the 90s, or even late 80s).

My likes:

-The styling on American cars until about 1957 (though some of the cars (i.e. Cadillacs) are just too long for me)

-Cute European coupes (like the Karmann Ghia), and some sedans (like the BMW 2002). I really like the roadsters, but they're not practical for my life.

-Japanese sporty vehicles of the 80s/early 90s (Eclipse, 300Z, Celica, Supra, etc)...but finding one untouched by young males seems nigh onto impossible

Requirements:

-I need a backseat that can at least fit small children

-A trunk that can handle at least 2 carry-on size roller suitcases

-Preferably at least 15mpg (though the higher the better)

I think this is everything people would want to know, but if I'm missing any vital info, please let me know. So, hit me with your recommendations!

TR8owner
TR8owner Reader
6/21/11 10:11 p.m.

Fiat 124 came to my mind as soon as you mentioned needing a back seat. I'd personally stay away from the rice rockets. Like you mentioned, its hard to fine one that wasn't owned by a young male.

tuna55
tuna55 SuperDork
6/22/11 4:10 a.m.

A buddy DDs his Amazon wagon, that's a neat ride and very simple to fix.

racerdave600
racerdave600 HalfDork
6/22/11 9:07 a.m.

Two cars came to mind immediately, an E36 BMW M3 ('90's), or a Porsche 944 Turbo or S2 ('80's).