LainfordExpress
LainfordExpress Reader
5/13/12 11:09 a.m.

So I'm thinking of trying a restoration project. While I have been Autocrossing and doing my own simple maintenance for a few years, this will be my first foray into bodywork and whatnot.

My thinking was to get an older sportscar, but then I started thinking if I got a vintage truck ('50s/'60's), it'd be way cool and maybe I could use it for simple towing (autocross Miata) and hauling (Lowe's trips, firewood, etc). As such, I wouldn't even try to make it perfect, just functional and maybe a little 'rat rod'.

Am I asking for trouble? Should I be worried about using such an old vehicle for towing? Brakes definitely in need of an upgrade? Need an engine/trans swap?

How soon will I hate a utility vehicle without A/C after a long day at the autocross or track day?

Example

SkinnyG
SkinnyG HalfDork
5/13/12 11:54 a.m.

I'm actually planning the same thing for "Project Next."

Pick the truck you really really WANT. Then find websites and forums that deal with that truck specifically. After a while of lurking, you will get to see all the problem areas, where to look, what you're getting yourself into.

My heart is set on a 64-66 Chevy, and there is PLENTY of EVERYTHING, including brake upgrades, A/C, air-ride, and whatever. The cool thing about an old truck, is you can get pretty much e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g with just a phone call and a Visa.

Plus, if these trucks have lasted 50 to 60 years, with today's coatings and sealants and rust-preventatives, they can last another 50 to 60 years.

I say go for it. I'm going to.

LainfordExpress
LainfordExpress Reader
5/13/12 12:12 p.m.

What forums/websites have you been using? I've mostly been checking out ebaymotors and Wikipedia just trying to learn about what I want.

dougie
dougie Reader
5/13/12 4:54 p.m.