1 2
ThatKid
ThatKid
8/7/08 7:03 p.m.

An '82 has popped up on Craigslist for $500, it's so, so tempting, but is there anything I should look for if I decide to go check this out? The ad says it "runs smooth" but we all know how that is.

So, what should I be looking for?

ignorant
ignorant SuperDork
8/7/08 7:05 p.m.

scott or chris whoever owns one? where you at.

integraguy
integraguy Reader
8/8/08 3:07 a.m.

An old used car buyer's guide I have says that ball joints wear quickly on these, and should be checked and that the ring/pinion alignment can cause a lot of noise when they are misaligned (duh?). Apparently the early models, like this one, are supposed to have switchable 2wd/4wd. I'm not sure what they mean by saying that, and post '85 models have awd "shift on the fly". I'm only guessing that means this car must be stopped or nearly stopped to change from 2 to 4 wheel drive and vice versa. sorry, I'm no expert, but until one comes along..........

ddavidv
ddavidv SuperDork
8/8/08 5:22 a.m.

Only thing I remember about them is they have a plastic valve cover with the world's most expensive gasket.

ThatKid
ThatKid New Reader
8/8/08 7:19 a.m.
ddavidv wrote: Only thing I remember about them is they have a plastic valve cover with the world's most expensive gasket.

that would depend on the engine though, correct?

Also, is there anywhere specific/unusual that these liked to rust?

Junkyard_Dog
Junkyard_Dog Reader
8/8/08 7:52 a.m.
ThatKid wrote: Also, is there anywhere specific/unusual that these liked to rust?

EVERYWHERE

slantvaliant
slantvaliant New Reader
8/8/08 8:31 a.m.
ThatKid wrote: Also, is there anywhere specific/unusual that these liked to rust?

Only the metal parts.

Joe Gearin
Joe Gearin Associate Publisher
8/8/08 9:21 a.m.
slantvaliant wrote:
Only the metal parts.