1 2 3
Spearfishin
Spearfishin Reader
4/2/24 1:19 p.m.

Buddy's dad has an immaculate, one owner 1200 Sportster that has some nice add on's and he's been on and off trying to sell (to support more track time in his Toybaru). Buddy called yesterday and said his dad had told him to just put it on Facebook and sell it for $2,500 because it was tough to stand out against the sea of ragged out Sportsters for $3k and he wanted it gone. Said he had mentioned if I wanted it it would be cheaper (I'm known to buy motorized things, if cheap, whether I need them or not).

So, I'm buying a one owner Sportster for $2k. Probably not the world's most smoking deal, but figure I can ride it for a season or two and get that money back out of it no problem. 

My questions: will the bike start if I'm not wearing a Harley tee shirt? Will it idle if I don't constantly chop the throttle? I'm new to this. devil

gsettle
gsettle Reader
4/2/24 1:57 p.m.

Man, you're gonna spend more than that updating your wardrobe!

Leather chaps and vests, boots, chaindrive wallets, and all the bandannas are spendy!

I guess you wont need a helmet though.

Appleseed
Appleseed MegaDork
4/2/24 2:41 p.m.

Be sure to throw away your full face helmet. cool

ShawnG
ShawnG MegaDork
4/2/24 2:50 p.m.

Harley guys will be impressed if you can drag the pipes in a corner.

No-one else will though.

Spearfishin
Spearfishin Reader
4/3/24 9:30 a.m.
gsettle said:

Man, you're gonna spend more than that updating your wardrobe!

Leather chaps and vests, boots, chaindrive wallets, and all the bandannas are spendy!

I guess you wont need a helmet though.

You've jumped to the conclusion that my everyday attire doesn't include some, or all, of the above. wink