1 2
curtis73
curtis73 UltraDork
1/5/14 6:11 p.m.

A continuation of THIS THREAD

I'm planning on turning a drop-deck reefer into an RV. Like this:

http://www.rbhightechtransport.com/RB022.jpg (I didn't use image code because its a huge photo)

I have tons of experience with RVs, and I have lots of Class B (bus) experience. I really feel competent engineering and designing an RV in an existing shell, but I need guidance on what brands, styles, etc would work best.

One of the things I would like to incorporate is a ramp or lift in the back that can be used for loading a car.

In that photo above, grey, black, and fresh water tanks can go under the belly in the boxes. A genset and propane tanks could go on a shelf up where the reefer unit used to be.

Aaaannnd GO.

Don49
Don49 HalfDork
1/5/14 6:32 p.m.

That appears low enough that a drop down gate would work. Given the height of the trailer you could have a loft above it for additional living space or storage.

Thinkkker
Thinkkker UltraDork
1/5/14 9:36 p.m.

If you want a lift gate, get a trailer with one. This would mean a high end car hauler and probably more money. I don't think its monetarily viable to build one on though I could be wrong. if you just wanted a motorcycle lift, then get something.

Don49 is right about the drive on. Build something like what Thor Outlaw with a bed up top. With overall height you can have a nice garage under a crawl in bed area.

JohnRW1621
JohnRW1621 UltimaDork
1/5/14 10:22 p.m.

Smaller, easy to link photo:

Get a cab like this and much of your living quarters needs will be met:

Cool project!
Cool equipment. What do these guys haul?

curtis73
curtis73 UltraDork
1/5/14 10:41 p.m.
JohnRW1621 wrote: Smaller, easy to link photo: Cool project! Cool equipment. What do these guys haul?

For the most part, these Kentucky drop-decks are used for moving. United, Allied, Mayflower, etc.