mhershorn
mhershorn None
3/12/10 9:06 a.m.

I have participated in HPDE in the past in a Porsche 996 C4 and then a 2004 350Z. I was a solo level driver in the PCA Goldcoast and Suncoast regions and NASA and an instuctor for PBOC and Chim Motorsports. My wife and I are looking to get back involved in HPDE and I am looking for some advice on car choices. My wife can drive a stick, but would like to begin her novice career in a vehicle without a clutch. I will also be using this car at events and have narrowed the field to cars having either sequential manual or dual clutch gearboxes. So far I have found the BMW M3 SMG, the VW GTI, the Audi TT, the Mitsubishi Evolution MR and Ralliart and finally the Toyota MR2 Spyder as options. In the past my modifications were focussed on safety (harness or roll bar, racing seat, 5 or 6 point harnesses, fire bottle) and suspension (stiffer springs, larger antiroll bars) and big brakes (Brembo) with air ducts. I had track wheels and used Hoosier slicks and later after the Hoosier compound change Michelin Pilot Sport Cups. I would appreciate any advice regarding the above vehicle choices and suggested modifications and wheel/tire choices. Reliability is an issue, as the car will be seeing double duty at year round track day events in Florida at PBIR, Homestead, Sebring and Daytona. I am leaning toward the M3 because of it's power. I am used to running vehicles with about 300 HP. I would not be doing any power mods to this choice, just a harness bar and suspension mods. I expect to purchase the car for around $20,000 and add little in mod costs. How would the SMG be in manual mode with regard to speed of shifts? I suspect that Dual Clutch gearboxes would be faster shifting. On the other hand the Toyota MR2 appeals because of its light weight and small size. My wife is 5 feet and weighs less than 100 pounds. I believe she may feel more comfortable in the Toyota. Also, given my kart racing experience, I believe i may enjoy the handling o