CJK440
CJK440 New Reader
9/6/24 10:50 a.m.

I have a 2017 T/A 392, 6 speed, 275 indy 500 tires, 6 pot brembos and 2pc rotors up front, factory bilstiens all around and a lower stance from the factory. It's probably one of the top Challenger models for track days. I know its a big car but I love it. I've been using it at a number of HPDE's at Lime Rock and want to tinker with the car a bit. Of course the majority of the guidance you find is drag racing improvements. I did find a thread here dating back to 2018 but imagine there is more experience with these now. 

As of today the car is stock with a front STB on its way. Anybody running one have thoughts on what could use improvement on these cars?

RacingComputers
RacingComputers HalfDork
9/6/24 12:31 p.m.

Following

Puddy46
Puddy46 HalfDork
9/6/24 12:49 p.m.

I have no experience with these on track, but I must say that is a good looking car you've got there.    

akylekoz
akylekoz UberDork
9/7/24 7:35 a.m.

A 392 T/A wide body is one of my dream cars.

Good to see some on the track, honestly I see more Challengers on track. 

Loweguy5
Loweguy5 Dork
9/7/24 7:46 a.m.

In reply to CJK440 :

I'm just here to say hello from a fellow CT resident!  There are several of us on here.  I can't help with the Challenger but the car culture here runs pretty strong.  Neat car!

Chris Tropea
Chris Tropea Associate Editor
9/7/24 9:33 a.m.

We had a Challenger come to the UTCC a few years ago and we did a video on it: 

RacerBoy75
RacerBoy75 Reader
9/7/24 2:01 p.m.

This is no help, but all the Challengers I've seen at track days typically are (of course) really fast down the straights, but park it in the turns, and only go about three laps at a time before pitting (maybe to catch the driver's breath?). It's my guess that all of that is not a car problem (other than the straight line performance), but a driver problem.

Cool car that you have there!

ClearWaterMS
ClearWaterMS HalfDork
9/7/24 7:33 p.m.